Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Astroart imager/guider

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    12

    Astroart imager/guider

    Hello, I purchased Astroart 6 nearly 2 years ago but due to poor skies and outreach duties I have not been able to get on a learning curve. I have several cameras for imaging and 3 for guiding. My main imager is an Opticstar DS-616C XL and guider is QHY5L-ii m. As with so many manuals translated from a foreign language I have a bit of trouble reading between the lines so to speak. The manual implies that I can use the imaging camera for guiding at the same time. If this is the case, how do I set up my Opticstar for this ability. I have the necessary drivers installed as per instructions.

    Dick

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    St Leonards, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    115
    https://www.optcorp.com/opticstar-ds...ch-sensor.html

    Dick,
    You are misled... the camera can be used for imaging or guiding (there's no ST-4 port?) but not at the same time.
    Keep using your QHY for guider and the Opticstar for imaging.
    "Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before....
    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...ctroscopy/info
    http://www.astronomicalspectroscopy.com/

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
    https://www.optcorp.com/opticstar-ds...ch-sensor.html

    Dick,
    You are misled... the camera can be used for imaging or guiding (there's no ST-4 port?) but not at the same time.
    Keep using your QHY for guider and the Opticstar for imaging.
    Merlin,

    Thank you, and now that I have that issue out of the way, would there be any advantage to opening another AA to use my guider in the first setup option or just use the second setup option?

    Dick

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    St Leonards, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    115
    Dick,
    With the QHY guider connected to the ST-4 port, you only have to work with one AA6 open.... this will allow control of the imaging camera and also the guiding by selecting a connection "Camera 1 Relays"
    If you want to use the Opticstar camera for guiding (What do you use for imaging??) then you need some means of communicating the guide signal to the mount.
    On SW EQ mounts you could use the EQMod software which allows you to use "pulse" guiding, or you'll need something like the Shoestring GP USB connection. One way or another there must be a connection between the guide camera and the mount controller.
    HTH
    "Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before....
    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...ctroscopy/info
    http://www.astronomicalspectroscopy.com/

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
    Posts
    12
    HTH,

    I apologize for the late reply. Thank you for making that clear, I should have realized that my self. It looks like it may be many days or more than a week before we have clear skies here but I intend to get out as soon as possible to give my gear a test.

    Dick

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    9
    I have a similar question; I am confused about ascom drivers; I want to guide with my Starshoot using Phd 2 from astro art so I can dither plus use my starlight express camera, or in another case my cannon d40. How does AA6 talk to Phd and then to the mount via the ST4 connection.
    I am not sure wear these various drivers are placed. I know there is a Starshoot ascom driver. Where is this placed. Do I also need another drive r placed in aa6. This is confusing. Thanks cjacobson

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    St Leonards, Vic, Australia
    Posts
    115
    AA6 guiding and PHD are separate programs, independent of each other.
    I sometimes use PHD for my electronic finder while using AA6 for imaging and guiding (I use an ATiK314 and Lodestar on the specroscope, and a DMK41 on the electronic finder.)
    "Astronomical Spectroscopy - The Final Frontier" - to boldly go where few amateurs have gone before....
    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...ctroscopy/info
    http://www.astronomicalspectroscopy.com/

  8. #8
    Developer
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    423
    If the camera is working yet with PHD, then its ASCOM driver is installed correctly. In Astroart you need only to install the generic ASCOM driver available at: http://www.msb-astroart.com/ccd_en.htm#ccdascom

    To guide with Astroart, I suggest to start with the Autoguide Tutorial in the Help, with the Simulators. Then make a test with your own guide camera, selecting "ASCOM" as secondary camera.
    If you prefer to guide with PHD, the feature to send dithering commands to PHD is ready and currently under test. It will be released with the next Service Pack (4-5 months).

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    9
    thanks for the quick response. I'll try this. cjacobson

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •